lecler01

As you already know, entertainment and pop culture is mourning the loss of John Hughes. One of the best writers of his generation, Hughes frequently explored the heartache of getting through high school and growing up. With such hits as The Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink, and Sixteen Candles, Hughes understood what it’s like to be an awkward teenage girl trying to keep her skin clear, her jeans fashionable, her personality stunning, and her quest for a boyfriend…well, somewhat achievable. He made quirky girls every where cooler and prettier than the captain of the cheerleading squad because of their severe awkwardness.

His influence on my high school years :shudder: never occurred to me until I read this post. But I totally get it now. After having a chain attached to one tooth – lovingly titled by my father as “the fang” – to pull it down into place, then succumbing to a poorly chosen perm, burgundy colored braces, Tommy Hilfiger button downs, and flower print baby doll dresses, high school really bit. Hard. I was growing by the minute (I now stand tall at 5’10”) both in length and in bust. I wore sports bras until my tig o’bitties could no longer fit in them. Zits littered my chin once a month and my blonde baby locks turned into boring brassy brown frizzy hay. A living hell was my mental existence. Mirrors and I did not speak for quite some time. I was the tall brunette girl who had poor balance, big feet, no hair conditionner, and problems blushing too easily.

But thanks to a little movie called Curly Sue I realized that no matter your situation in life, you have to take the reigns and work with what you got. If this little girl who was years younger than me could be homeless, befriend an amazon blonde lady, and find a family and love all in two hours then why couldn’t I fix the zits, and the hair, and the longing for a boyfriend who could take on my 5’10” frame without feeling the need to call me a “tree.” :ahem:

Mr. Hughes, I never knew you, but you sure as hell understood me, BellaSugar and my fellow quirky girl friends who have since grown into beautifully crooked swans. To Katie Holmes, Kristen Stewart, Michelle Williams, and every other awkward chic out there with her hands in her pockets or cigarette in mouth or football under her arm, you have John Hughes to thank for your unique ability to find your niche. If not for Watts there would be entirely too many Kelly Kapowskis running the world. Thanks for letting the unique be cool, Mr. Hughes.

“I don’t want to be stinky poo poo girl; I want to be happy flower child.” – queen of quirky girls, Drew Barrymore

